Development of researchers mobility policy guidelines for the region of Western Balkans - 2005-2007

Homepage News archiveThree Western Balkan countries join FP7
Three Western Balkan countries join FP7
Croatia, Serbia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia are now eligible to compete on an equal footing with EU Member States in the Seventh Framework Programme (FP7), following the signature of Memoranda of Understanding with the European Commission. A similar agreement was also recently signed between Turkey and the Commission.

In gaining 'associated status', the signatory countries will now be able to participate in all the FP7 calls for proposals, including those opened since the beginning of the year. The agreement offers researchers form these countries the same rights for participation as EU Member States in all the research cooperation and supported actions funded under FP7.

Acting as signatory on behalf of the European Commission, Science and Research Commissioner Janez Potocnik said he was pleased to see 'the doors of the European Research Area (ERA) open wide to the Western Balkan countries'.

The Commissioner also noted the importance of the agreement in view of these countries' application to join the EU. 'Research cooperation with Europe's scientific community is a tool which can smooth the way for the integration process of candidate and potential candidate countries into the European Union,' he said.

This is not the first time that some of these countries have been associated with the EU research framework programme. In 2006, Croatia gained associated status, enabling them to participate in the last year of FP6.

Montenegro has also requested to become associated with FP7 and it is expected that a decision will be taking once Stabilisation and Association Agreement (SAA) negotiations have come to a head. Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Israel and Switzerland are also expected to join soon.

For more information on international cooperation under FP7, please visit:

WEB-MOB project is an
INCO FP6 project supported by
the European Commission

Development of researchers mobility policy guidelines for the region of Western Balkans - 2005-2007