

## 文部科学省 Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology



Committee for Scientific and Technological Policy (CSTP) and Steering and Funding of Research Institutions (SFRI)

## **WORKSHOP**

### THE INTERNATIONAL MOBILITY OF RESEARCHERS

28 March 2007

IEA 9, rue de la Fédération 75015 Paris, France

#### **Background**

Across the OECD, there is growing demand for a better understanding of the scale, direction and drivers of the international mobility of scientific and technical talent. An increasing number of countries are implementing policy measures to attract foreign researchers and to facilitate their access to the labour market. However, competition for skilled researchers is increasing, and policy makers need to be concerned with measures both to attract researchers and to retain them. There has been an increase in return flows to some countries, especially to non-member countries such as China and India as well as to OECD countries like Ireland who are actively courting expatriate researchers. In addition, some OECD countries have developed policy measures to promote the temporary outward flow of students and researchers to enhance international mobility and 'brain circulation'.

#### **Objectives**

This one-day workshop aims to:

- Assess the stocks and flows of researcher mobility in OECD and certain non-member countries.
- Analyse the policy options for enhancing the international mobility of researchers at the national and institutional level; and
- Examine the policy options for designing researcher mobility schemes that can build research capacity in both OECD countries and non-member economies.

# **Draft Programme**

0.20	Designation
8.30	Registration Welsome and Opening
9.00	Welcome and Opening  A live Vechikawa Deputy Director Coneral S & T Policy Pureau MEYT Japan
	Mr. Akira Yoshikawa, Deputy Director-General, S&T Policy Bureau, MEXT, Japan     Mr. Like Druden, Deputy Director, Director Science, Technology and Industry, OECD.
	Mr. John Dryden, Deputy Director, Directorate for Science, Technology and Industry, OECD
9.15	Session 1: The scale, direction and drivers of the international mobility of researchers
	Chair: Dr. Shinichi Yamamoto, Hiroshima University, Japan
	Discussant: (TBC)
	<ul> <li>Dirk Pilat/Ester Basri, Science and Technology Policy Division, OECD</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Dr. Andrew Dearing, Secretary General, European Industrial Research Management Association</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Dr. Berthold Neizert, Head of Division, International Relations, Max Planck Society, Germany</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Dr. Mark Regets, National Science Foundation, USA</li> </ul>
11.00	Coffee and visit to poster area
11.30	Session 2: Issues and options for enhancing the international mobility of researchers
	Chair: Dr. Sveva Avveduto, National Research Council, Italy
	Discussant: Prof. Hiroshi Ota, Hitotsubashi University, Japan
	<ul> <li>Prof. Rongping Mu, Director-general, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Prof. Binod Khadria, Nehru University, New Delhi, India</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Prof. Graeme Hugo, University of Adelaide, Australia</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Dr. Ulrike Albrecht, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Mr. Georges Bingen, Marie Curie Fellowships, European Commission</li> </ul>
13.30	Buffet lunch and visit to poster area
14.30	Session 3: International experiences: case studies of national and institutional policies
	Chair: Mr. Luis Sanz Menendez, Ministry of Education and Science, Spain
	Discussant: Mr. François Sauvé, Canada Research Chairs Program, Canada
	<ul> <li>Dr. Masaharu Yanagihara, Vice President, Kyushu University, Japan</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Mr. Dhesigen Naidoo, Department of Science and Technology, South Africa</li> </ul>
	• Dr. Antony Mauvais, Director of the Fondation Nationale Alfred Kastler, France
	<ul> <li>Dr. Taeyoung Shin, Vice President, Science and Technology Policy Institute, Korea</li> </ul>
	• Dr. Anders Ekeland, Norwegian Institute for Studies of Education, Research and Innovation,
	Norway
16.30	Coffee and visit to poster area
17.00	Policy Roundtable:
	Chair: Dr. Roger Ridley, Ministry of Research, Science and Technology, New Zealand
	Policy overview and outcomes
	- Mr. William Thorn, Counsellor, Education, Science and Training, Australia
	- Dr. Shinichi Yamamoto, Hiroshima University, Japan
	- Mr. Mark Beatson, Office of Science and Innovation, Department of Trade and Industry, UK
	- Dr. Andrew Dearing, Secretary General, European Industrial Research Management Association
	- Ministry of Economy, Chile (TBC)
	• I colling into the future
	<ul> <li>Looking into the future</li> <li>Mr. Dirk Pilat, OECD</li> </ul>
	Discussion and close
10.00	
18.00	Cocktails

For more information please contact: <a href="mailto:Ester.Basri@oecd.org">Ester.Basri@oecd.org</a>